LPGA Legends Inducted

LPGA Legends Tour cofounder Jane Blalock and LPGA & World Golf Hall of Fame member Nancy Lopez will be inducted into The Legends Hall of Fame in August in French Lick, Indiana. The induction will be held during tournament week of the Legends Championship, set for August 13-17, at the Pete Dye Course at French Lick Resort, the Midwest’s Premier Resort Destination. For more information visit www.FrenchLick.com.

“I am very honored to be inducted into the Legends Hall of Fame,” said Lopez, a 48 time winner on the LPGA Tour with three major championship victories. ” When you get older, this honor becomes even more special after playing against so many great competitors over the years.”

During her first full season on the LPGA Tour, Lopez won nine tournaments, including five consecutive events. She also won the Vare Trophy for lowest scoring average, was the LPGA’s top rookie and Player of the Year, becoming the only woman to have won all three LPGA honors in the same season(1978). Her three majors all came at the LPGA Championship- in 1978,1985 and 1989.

Nancy was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1987 and was a member of the inaugural 1990 United States Solheim Cup team and captain in 2005. Lopez has played in more than a dozen Legends Tour events. earning two top-10 finishes.

Jane Blalock is a 29 time LPGA tour champion who still holds the record for most consecutive cuts made on any professional tour with 299. She was the LPGA’s top rookie in 1969, won her first event in 1970 and won 25 tournaments during the 1970s-never missing a cut through 1980. She won her last two tournaments in 1985 and retired from competition in1987. A founding member of the Legends Tour, Blalock currently serves as the Tour’s CEO. Since its inception in 2000, the Tour has grown from 2 annual events to 11 events in 2013. A determined promoter of veteran LPGA players, Jane worked tirelessly to get the Legends designated as the official senior tour of the LPGA in 2001.

“Once I recovered from the shock of learning about my nomination, the most incredible sense of fulfillment and elation set in.” said Blalock. “It gave me the opportunity to reflect upon my entire LPGA and Legends Tour journey and to realize how fortunate I am to have lived this life.”

The Legends Hall of Fame is a permanent installment displayed year-round at West Baden Springs Hotel, a National Historic Landmark, which was once called the “Eighth Wonder of the World” with its 200 foot atrium and European influenced architecture. The Hall of Fame was created by the French Lick Resort to showcase the greatest names in women’s golf history and the exhibit features photos and memorabilia showcasing the history of players’ careers.

Nominated candidates are reviewed and approved annually for induction by a committee comprised of French Lick officials and ambassadors, as well as active and former Legends Tour players. Annual inductions of two players is held in conjunction with the Legends Championship. One inductee is an active member of the Tour who is still competing in official events. The second is a semi-retired Legends member who has made a significant impact on the game during her LPGA and Legends Tour careers.

Legend Tour members Jan Stephenson and Kathy Whitworth were inducted in 2013. Three additional honorees-Mickey Wright, Louise Suggs and Betsy Rawls-were recognized last year for their contributions to the game. The Hall of Fame also honored golf course designer and architect Alice Dye with a special 2013 induction. To learn more visit www.theLegendsTour.com.


french lick resort

Dave Daubert

Lehigh University graduate, Procter & Gamble retired. Previously a Managing Editor and Feature Writer for a regional golf monthly magazine for 11 years. Married to wife Carol and residing in Solivita, an active adult community in Central Florida

Comments are closed.